Richard L. Schilsky CALGB Achievement Award Sponsors

Abbott
Astellas
AstraZeneca
Celgene
Eisai
EMD Serono

Trinidad Ajazi, M.M. Jane M.Armer, Ph.D. Nancy L. Bartlett, M.D. Monica Bertagnolli, M.D. Donald A. Berry, Ph.D. Clara Bloomfield, M.D. Denise Brennan Daniel R. Budman, M.D. Harold J. Burstein, M.D., Ph.D. Lisa A. Carey, M.D. Andrew J. Carroll III, Ph.D. Marc L. Citron, M.D. Harvey Jay Cohen, M.D. Debra Condon Anthony D'Amico, M.D. Todd L. Demmy, M.D. Kandie Dempsey, M.S., R.N. Lynn G. Dressler, Ph.D. James A. Eastham, M.D. Martin J. Edelman, M.D. Merrill Egorin, M.D. Stewart Fleishman, M.D. Gini Fleming, M.D. Stephen Graziano, M.D. Mark Green, M.D. Stephen L. George, Ph.D. Stephen Grubbs, M.D. Dr. & Mrs. Hans Grunwald Olwen M. Hahn, M.D. Susan Halabi, Ph.D. Daniel F. Hayes Debra Herzan Donna Hollis, M.S. Clifford A. Hudis, M.D. David D. Hurd, M.D. David Ilson, M.D. Sin-Ho Jung, Ph.D.

Genzyme Oncology Millennium Pharmaceuticals Novartis OSI Pharmaceuticals Pfizer Oncology Sanofi-Aventis

M. Margaret Kemeny, M.D. leffrey I. Kirshner, M.D. Leslie J. Kohman, M.D. Jonathan Kolitz, M.D. Robert Kratzke, M.D. Ann LaCasce, M.D. Anand S. Lagoo, M.D. Richard A. Larson, M.D. John P. Leonard, M.D. Dr. & Mrs. Eric Lester Ellis G. Levine, M.D. Alan P. Lyss, M.D. Mark L. Maitland, M.D., Ph.D. James R. Marshall, M.D. James L. Mohler, M.D. Daniel M. Moore, Ir. Dr. & Mrs. Hyman Muss Donna Niedzwiecki, Ph.D. Herbert Pang, Ph.D. Barbara Parker, M.D. Ann H. Partridge, M.D. David J. Peace, M.D. Porterfield Family Foundation Kanti R. Rai, M.D. Katherine Shea Perry Shen, M.D. Karen Sartell Deborah Schrag, M.D. Mary A. Sherrell, M.A. Beth & Steven Schilsky Lawrence N. Shulman, M.D. Stephen Solomon, M.D. Wendy Stock, M.D. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill c/o Richard Goldberg, M.D. Daniel Vaena, M.D. Everett Vokes, M.D.

Eric Winer, M.D.



RICHARD L. S C H I L S K Y Cancer and Leukemia Group B ACHIEVEMENT A W A R D



One-year CALGB
Grant for Promising
Cancer Research



Philip W. Kantoff, M.D.

Cancer and Leukemia B Foundation 230 W. Monroe St., Suite 2050 Chicago, IL 60606-4703 The Richard L. Schilsky Cancer and Leukemia B Achievement Award was established to honor those exceptional individuals who make it possible for CALGB to succeed in research that transforms care for cancer patients.

The Cancer and Leukemia Group B (CALGB) is a research community led by investigators from U.S. academic and community medical centers, and supported by a large network of health care providers, patient advocates, clinical research professionals, and administrators.

Established in 2010 through generous donations from both CALGB leaders and industry supporters, the Richard L. Schilsky CALGB Achievement Award is intended to identify and honor "unsung heroes" of the CALGB so that they can receive the thanks that they so richly deserve.

All CALGB members are encouraged to submit nominations for this award, which will be presented at the CALGB Summer Group Meetings held in June each year. During the Plenary session of these meetings, awardees will be asked to give a brief presentation of their work.

2010 Award Recipient



John C. Byrd, M.D.

Dr. Byrd is the Director of the
Hematologic Malignancies program at
The Ohio State University and holds
the D. Warren Brown Professorship in
Leukemia Research and academic

rank of Professor of Medicine and Medicinal Chemistry. His research accomplishments over the past 10 years include work completed in the laboratory and clinic with several different therapeutic agents active in chronic lymphocytic leukemia and related leukemia and lymphoma. In particular, he continues to be very active in the development of therapeutic antibodies and other targeted agents because of his interest in non-toxic therapies for the treatment of leukemia. Dr. Byrd has been a faculty member of the Clinical Research Training Institute of the American Society of Hematology (ASH) and is a founding member of the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute Data Safety and Monitoring Committee. Recently, he was elected to the American Society of Clinical Investigation for his research accomblishments. He has authored or been a co-author on more than 100 peer-reviewed publications.

2011 Nominations

Nominations for the 2011 award will be accepted from CALGB members until March 31, 2011. A letter, describing the contributions of the nominee, should be sent to:

Sylvia Hrbek
CALGB Foundation
230 W. Monroe Street, Suite 2050
Chicago, IL 60606